Review: Code of Honor (Spontagio Family #1) by Missy Johnson

August 21, 2015 Review 0

Review: Code of Honor  (Spontagio Family #1) by Missy Johnson

In a series debut for fans of Tracy Wolff and Sylvia Day, New York Times bestselling author Missy Johnson asks a burning question: What happens when love is undeniable—and taboo?

Pietro Gustovi is loyal, polished, and hard as stone, the kind of guy women want and men respect. At twenty-three, he’s survived tragedies that would break men twice his age. And he owes it all to his father’s closest friend, Giovanni Spontagio, who took him in as an orphaned teenager. Pietro would give his life for Giovanni . . . but his heart belongs to Giovanni’s daughter.

Raised in Chicago under the spotlight of power and privilege, Lucy Spontiago feels most alive on stage. Determined to become a prima ballerina, she escapes her father’s protective gaze long enough to audition for the ballet in New York City. Soon, however, Lucy realizes that she is not alone. Pietro is watching her back. And though he’s like a brother to her, Lucy cannot deny the thrill she feels knowing his eyes are on her.

Pietro could never betray his mentor by sleeping with his only child. But Lucy follows her passions, no matter how forbidden. Soon their nights are consumed by explosive, red-hot temptation—a dance that will expose shocking secrets and burn everything else to the ground.

Title: Code of Honor
Author: Missy Johnson
Series: Spontagio Family #1
Published by LoveSwept
Source: Publisher
Published: August 4th 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romance
Pages: 224 pages
See the title at Goodreads
Purchase your copy: Amazon
Visit the Author's Website

Stars: one-star
Flames: three-flames

I am sad to say that this book just wasn’t my cup of tea.  It was a real struggle to get through it.  I kept putting it down and reading something else, then coming back to just put it aside again.  I read three books while trying to get through this one!  Dangerously close to a DNF here! 

I was interested in the blurb. Mafia guy’s daughter runs away and joins the ballet.  Mafia guy’s henchmen continuously watches her making sure she’s safe.  Love expected to happen right? Nope, Wrong, Really??? I think there were good intentions here but it was just so poorly executed.  There were some things that did happen throughout the story, but it didn’t hold my interest-thus setting it aside. When the two finally got together, it was such a messed up deal. Unfortunately by then, I didn’t really care. I felt no connection to the characters and although there was a real douchebag move done here, I was like oh well.  I had high hopes for the story. Just fell flat for me.

I am sorry that a recommendation for this book is not coming unless it is totally overhauled and re-released.  I am usually against giving one star reviews. In this case, I was entended a copy to honestly review, so I felt I needed to say what was lacking. It was a certifiable, bordering on DNF, struggle to read this. Maybe I would read other books by Missy Johnson, I just do not intend to continue with this series.

Sourcebooks

Comments are closed.