Review: Honor Among Orcs (Orc Saga, #1) by Amalia Dillin

April 12, 2014 Review 1

Review: Honor Among Orcs (Orc Saga, #1) by Amalia Dillin

Tolkien meets Beauty and the Beast in this new fantasy by Amalia Dillin, author of the Fate of the Gods trilogy.

After nearly a decade as the king’s whipping-girl, Princess Arianna has no intention of going quietly into marriage to some treasonous noble, or serving obediently as the king’s spy until her death is more convenient. When she discovers a handsome orc, chained and trapped inside a magic mirror, Arianna cannot help but see a lasting freedom from her father's abuse.

Left to rot inside a mirror by the king, Bolthorn never imagined his prayers would be answered by a princess. Nor did he ever expect to meet so worthy a woman after knowing her father’s cruelty. He needs her help to escape the mirror before the king marches against the orcs, but all he can offer Arianna is ice and darkness in exchange for her aid.

If Arianna can free the monster behind the glass, perhaps she might free herself, as well. But once they cross the mountain, there will be no return, and the deadly winter is the least of what threatens them on the other side.

Fans of Kristin Cashore's FIRE and Tolkien's Lord of the Rings will appreciate the collision of romance, adventure, and epic fantasy -- all with a new adult edge -- in Honor Among Orcs.

Title: Honor Among Orcs
Author: Amalia Dillin
Other books by this author that we've reviewed: , Tempting Fate, Fate Forgotten, Taming Fate
Series: Orc Saga #1
Published by Thorskona Books
Source: Author
Published: April 1, 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal Romance
Pages: 340
See the title at Goodreads
Purchase your copy: Visit the Author's Website

Stars: five-stars
Flames: four-flames

This new series by Amalia Dillin really has me hooked. I love it when a new supernatural creature is used in fantasy or paranormal romance. This is the second series of the author’s that I read and follow. She has definitely become an author that I keep a watch on for whatever she has coming out.

This book had me hooked right from the beginning. The magic in this story is fascinating as soon as I started reading this story I was not able to put it down. The descriptions and characters in the story were very well written. The king and the noble to marry the princess are horrible people and they deserve everything that happens.

What I really liked was the mystery of the world and the orcs. The history of the Princess Arianna’s mother also is something that I am really curious about. I hope that we find out more about this in later books.

There wasn’t much I did not like in this story. The only thing I can say is I got a little confused with the names once the book shifted to the orc’s territory. However this is also common in fantasy books and it was not enough for me to lower the score of the book.

All in all this is a great series to start and keep reading in the future. I can’t wait to see the future books in this series to see where it goes.

 

Rachel

One Response to “Review: Honor Among Orcs (Orc Saga, #1) by Amalia Dillin”