Review: Once Kissed (O’Brien Family #1) by Cecy Robson

April 19, 2016 Review 0

Review: Once Kissed (O’Brien Family #1) by Cecy Robson

Once they shared a night of passion. Now a chance encounter forces them back together. In Cecy Robson’s O’Brien Family series debut—perfect for readers of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn—two total opposites find that the flames of desire are still smoldering.

Tough-as-steel cop Curran O’Brien is quickly rising through the ranks of the Philadelphia police department. But when his rookie partner is almost killed under his watch, Curran just wants to prove he still has what it takes to walk among Philly’s finest. So he’s pissed to be stuck on a cushy security assignment for the DA’s office . . . until he gets a good look at the sweet, straitlaced intern he’s supposed to protect—but not touch.

Tess Newart recognizes Curran instantly. How could she not? Back in college she tied this former frat boy to the bed with her argyle socks! That sizzling one-night stand was the only indiscretion Tess ever allowed herself. She has survived law school so far, despite being pushed to succeed by her overbearing father. Now that she’s interning on a major case against a ruthless crime boss, she won’t jeopardize her career by giving in to temptation again. She just never expected temptation to look so damn hot in uniform.

Tess knows her father has other plans for her, and they don’t include Curran. But soon she’s falling for him all over again. And when danger emerges, Curran will prove just how good a bad-boy cop can be.

Title: Once Kissed
Author: Cecy Robson
Other books by this author that we've reviewed: Of Flame and Promise, Inseverable, Let Me, Of Flame and Light
Series: O'Brien Family #1
Other books in this series that we've reviewed: Let Me
Published by LoveSwept
Source: Publisher
Published: November 3, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, New Adult, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 288
See the title at Goodreads
Purchase your copy: Amazon
Visit the Author's Website
Visit the Goodreads Series Page

Stars: four-half-stars
Flames: three-flames
I received this book for free from the Publisher or Author in exchange for an honest review, or I purchased it with my own funds. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
300 Review

You know you have stumbled upon a great book when the real world gets in the way of reading and you just can’t seem to put the book down. You constantly think about the characters and incidentally dream about them. Once Kissed is one of those books. I love family serials because you know that they will be intertwined with the following books; so you know there will be more chance encounters with them. This is my first Cecy Robson novel and I cannot believe what I have been missing.

Contessa Newart is on the last stretch of law school and has been given an opportunity of a lifetime. An upcoming DA has asked her to help research and prep for a huge mob takedown. She knows that once she is done she can finally be free of her father’s control. Curran O’Brien has been saddled with babysitting Contessa throughout this prep and trial in case the mob decides to take her out. This has to be punishment for his screw up a few months back. But surprise, surprise. They actually went to the same college and have spent some time between the sheets that they both could never forget.

I had read some of the reviews before diving in which had many mixed feelings. They either loved it or not. A lot did not expect the intense issues that these two, Curran O’Brien and Contessa Newart have to go through in order to grow. I find books that both our hero/heroine are wounded, find each other, learn to love themselves, and grow into the person that the other deserves are the best sort of books.

I totally fell in love with the O’Brien clan and cannot wait for their stories! Especially since Declan, the DA, has some serious sexual tension with his boss’ daughter! Once Kissed has given me a glimpse into Cecy Robson’s writing style and I will be actively looking forward to more of her work.

I was gifted a copy of this book from the JeepDiva in the exchange for an honest review. The opinions and ratings are my own and I was in no way compensated.

 

 

Comments are closed.