Review: Shock & Awe (Sidewinder #1) by Abigail Roux

November 13, 2013 Review 17

Review: Shock & Awe (Sidewinder #1) by Abigail Roux

After barely surviving a shootout in New Orleans, Sidewinder medic Kelly Abbott has to suffer through a month of recovery before he can return home to Colorado. He’s not surprised when fellow Sidewinder Nick O’Flaherty stays with him in New Orleans. Nor is he surprised when Nick travels home with him to help him get back on his feet—after all, years on the same Marine Force Recon team bonded the men in ways that only bleeding for a brother can. He’s very surprised, though, when Nick humors his moment of curiosity and kisses him.

Nick knows all of Kelly’s quirks and caprices, so the kiss was a low-risk move on his part . . . or so he thought. But what should’ve been a simple moment unleashes a flood of confusing emotions and urges that neither man is prepared to address.

Now, Kelly and Nick must figure out what they mean to each other—friends and brothers in arms, or something even deeper?—before the past can come back to ruin their tenuous future.

Title: Shock and Awe
Author: Abigail Roux
Other books by this author that we've reviewed: Touch & Geaux, Cut & Run, Sticks and Stones, Fish & Chips
Series: Sidewinder
Other books in this series that we've reviewed: Cross & Crown,
Published by Riptide Publishing
Source: Publisher
Published: November 11, 2013
Genres: Male Male Romance
Pages: 87
See the title at Goodreads
Purchase your copy: Amazon
Visit the Author's Website

Stars: five-stars
Flames: two-half-flames
Abigail Roux

Shock and Awe is a great start to what I can only see as an amazing series. Fans of Abigail’s Cut and Run series will see many familiar faces in this book. Readers who have not read Roux’s Cut and Run books can easily walk into this world and not be lost. I am one of those readers. There is enough mention of past events that readers are kept up to speed with what is going on while getting you curious enough to want to go back and read those books also.

Nick and Kelly have been extremely close friends for a very long time. In novella length books friends to lovers romances work so well. I personally also love friends to lovers romances. This is one of the many reasons Kelly and Nick were such a pleasure to read. They know each other. They know things about each other that no one else knows. The compassion, trust, and strong foundations for the relationship are already built. Their hurdles to going from friends to lovers is what keeps anyone who picks up this book from putting it down.

Favorite quote, Kelly to Nick: “You really think this can go bad? When everything feels so fucking good?”

Abigail Roux


Hello everyone! Welcome to the Day Four of the Shock & Awe blog tour! Thank you to The Jeep Diva for hosting today. If you’re following along, you might find this handy dandy schedule of use, and you might be interested in keeping up with me each day, because I’ve got a couple goodies to give away. In celebration of Nick and Kelly’s coming out, so to speak, I’ve got three of their Heart and Clover T-shirts for three lucky commenters. And I’ve got five sets of trading cards with original artwork and character work-ups, something I intend to add new cards to every year, which makes this first year’s cards pretty important if you’re an obsessive collector like I am.

 

A Deleted Scene

 

One of the things people always ask me to share during these blog tours is a deleted scene from the books. I’ve always hesitated to do so, because I save everything I cut in order to cannibalize later. But today, I’ve got a cut scene to share that gives away no plot, probably won’t be used in any books, and gives you a little taste of what the Sidewinder boys get up to.

 

Ty was studiously ignoring them as they ragged him about his broken computer, writing out his notes on the case longhand. He tie was loosened and his shirt sleeves were rolled up. His hand had riffled his hair to the point that it was suitably mussed, and he looked entirely too edible to be at work right now.

 

The phone ringing saved Zane from further thoughts on the supersonic hotness of his partner. Ty reached out to press the speaker button on his desk phone, still writing as he answered.

 

“Special Agent Grady,” he said, managing not to sound too distracted.

 

“Hey,” a familiar voice responded, the Boston accent of Nick O’Flaherty all too clear to Zane. He knew Ty’s buddies had been in town over the weekend, and he’d barely seen Ty at all. He hadn’t even heard any tales yet.

 

Ty glanced up at the phone, looking surprised, but he continued writing as he talked. “What’s up, buddy?”

 

“First of all, your phone is not turned on. You dick.”

 

Ty hummed unapologetically.

 

“Secondly, did you find a tooth in your stuff this morning?”

 

Ty shook his head, seemingly unfazed by the question other than the beginnings of a smirk on his handsome face. “Did you lose one?”

 

“There is definitely a lack of canine in my life right now.”

 

Ty began to chuckle under his breath. “Dude, you lost that tooth in ’99. Your cap probably popped off. Where are you, anyway?”

 

“At the hotel. It took me forty minutes to reach the phone. I fell asleep and they duct taped me to the floor. I’ve only got three fingers loose.”

 

Ty merely nodded again, as if this weren’t unusual. “So, the first thing you ask when you finally free enough fingers to dial a phone is not ‘come help me’ but ‘where’s my tooth?'” he asked, voice wavering.

 

“Shut up, Grady.”

 

“Haven’t seen your tooth, man. Sorry,” Ty told him, beginning to laugh as he reached and ended the call.

 

“Your friends are all jacked, Grady,” Alston mumbled.

 

You won’t be seeing it in a book, but you can expect some similar hijinks coming down the pike from the Sidewinder boys.

 

If you care to follow me more closely, you can find me on Twitter, Facebook, and Tumblr.

 

After barely surviving a shootout in New Orleans, Sidewinder medic Kelly Abbott has to suffer through a month of recovery before he can return home to Colorado. He’s not surprised when fellow Sidewinder Nick O’Flaherty stays with him in New Orleans. Nor is he surprised when Nick travels home with him to help him get back on his feet—after all, years on the same Marine Force Recon team bonded the men in ways that only bleeding for a brother can. He’s very surprised, though, when Nick humors his moment of curiosity and kisses him.

Nick knows all of Kelly’s quirks and caprices, so the kiss was a low-risk move on his part . . . or so he thought. But what should’ve been a simple moment unleashes a flood of confusing emotions and urges that neither man is prepared to address.

Now, Kelly and Nick must figure out what they mean to each other—friends and brothers in arms, or something even deeper?—before the past can come back to ruin their tenuous future.

You can read an excerpt and purchase Shock & Awe today from Riptide!

Abigail ROux

17 Responses to “Review: Shock & Awe (Sidewinder #1) by Abigail Roux”

  1. GMorgan

    Oh sheesh, I am looking forward to all the sheningans and reading about them in the books in the (near) future. 😀

  2. Emily

    I love Ty and Nick…………as friends! ONLY FRIENDS 😉 Now him and Kels? Damn………….*swoons*

  3. michelle rae

    Oh I love those boys! Now, where can I find Digger? I’ve got some duct tape handy?!?

  4. Kris

    I love Sidewinder antics. We will know Zane has been accepted by the pack when one day he wakes up tied up with a marker beard or only one eye brow. Talk about motivation for sobriety.

  5. Tammy

    LOL, that scene cracked me up. I love how Ty is just ‘oh well, no biggie Nick is tied up’. I just love all the boys!

  6. mindfluff

    I love how Ty was so nonchalant about the whole thing, and Alston’s comment is priceless! Can’t wait to see more hijinks.

  7. charlaynedenney

    Ok, THAT was funny as heck. I could see Ty trying hard not to bust out laughing AND at the same time shaking his head at the usual antics. What a rich group of people!

    Thanks for the stop and the deleted scene.

  8. Aniko

    Heh, loved the deleted scene. Thanks, Abi! Can’t wait to see the guys getting up to more hijinks soon!