Review: All I Need Is You (Loving You #2) by Wendy S. Marcus

October 5, 2015 Review 3

Review: All I Need Is You  (Loving You #2) by Wendy S. Marcus

Perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Robyn Carr, this sexy yet sweet military romance reunites a headstrong dancer and a rugged army soldier after one steamy encounter tears them apart.

As a dancer who creates mesmerizing visions onstage, Neve James is looking for the same kind of stability in her love life. Her pen pal, Rory McRoy, is on leave from deployment in Afghanistan, so she heads to Boston to surprise him. After corresponding for months as part of a “Support Our Troops” initiative—and exchanging dozens of “Read When You’re Alone” letters—Neve knows what Rory likes, and she intends to fulfill his every fantasy. But all they get are a few blissful moments together before they’re interrupted by a woman claiming to be Rory’s fiancée.

Rory has fallen hard for Neve’s letters. When he finally meets her in person, he has to have her, right then and there—until Neve takes off in a fit of anger. Forced to return to Afghanistan before he can fix things between them, Rory waits four agonizing months to prove that he’s not the man Neve thinks he is. But by the time he arrives in New York, she’s already made up her mind. Luckily, Rory never backs down from a challenge, and he’s prepared to put everything on the line for love.

Title: All I Need Is You
Author: Wendy S. Marcus
Series: Loving You #2
Published by LoveSwept
Source: Publisher
Published: October 6th 2015
Genres: Military Romance, Romance
Pages: 252 pages
See the title at Goodreads
Purchase your copy: Amazon

Stars: three-stars
Flames: two-half-flames
Wendy S Marcus

All I Need is You is a standalone novel in the Loving You series by Wendy S. Marcus. You do not have to read the other books in the series to enjoy this one. This book follows Neve and Rory as they start out pen pals and over time, it turns into so much more. Both have baggage that they must deal with and overcome, to have a shot at that elusive happily ever after we all dream about.

Neve is a dancer with an unhappy streak with men leaving her looking for love. Unfortunately her bad luck has her always choosing the bad boys. After some soul-searching, she decides to change her life and her luck with men, by enrolling in a military pen pal program.

Rory is the happy soldier stationed in Afghanistan paired up with Neve as a pen pal. The beginning letters are fun and romantic as they are getting to know one another. As their letters continue, a friendship forms and things become a bit more intimate and substantial. They tell each other their fears and fantasies as well as their secrets. As they comfort each other with their words, they are growing closer.

When Rory comes home on leave, Neve surprises him by coming to see him. He is excited to see Neve in person. Crap hits the fan though, when a girl claiming to be Rory’s fiancée finds them in a compromising situation. Neve is devastated that Rory lied to her. She storms off and never talks to him before he ships off. Once Rory is home for good, he’s motivated to find Neve and make things right. His world needs her in it. Period.

This story was one of mixed feelings for me. I love the beginning and the letters written to each other. They made me laugh and the “ones to be read alone” had me needing a cool drink after! The dual point of views were also a plus as I really like knowing what the characters are thinking and why they did something that they did. I also enjoyed the flashbacks that added to the story but didn’t swamp it with too much information. My only beef? Neve and her screwed up way of turning around a situation. Although I don’t think Rory was as thoughtful and understanding as he needed to be at times, it was mainly her that drove me crazy! That being said, I still enjoyed the story told. Relationships and happily ever afters are hard work and I am certain that’s what the Wendy S. Marcus was striving for in writing All I Need is You.

 

Sourcebooks

Advance praise for All I Need Is You

“Wendy S. Marcus has penned a perfect romance in All I Need Is You, with a sexy dancer heroine, a hot military hero with a sense of humor, and a story you won’t want to end.”—New York Times bestselling author Claudia Connor

 

Link to Follow Tour:  http://www.tastybooktours.com/2015/08/all-i-need-is-you-loving-you-2-by-wendy.html 

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24843214-all-i-need-is-you

Goodreads Series Link: https://www.goodreads.com/series/147771-loving-you

 

Tasty Tours

Buy Links:  Amazon B & N iTunes | Kobo

Author InfoAll You Need is Love

Wendy S. Marcus is an award-winning author of contemporary romance. A nurse by trade, Wendy holds a Master of Science in Health Care Administration, a degree that does her absolutely no good as she now spends her days, nights, and weekends mucking around in her characters’ lives creating conflict, emotion, and, of course, a happily ever after. Wendy lives in the beautiful Hudson Valley region of New York. When she’s not writing, she enjoys spending time with her family, which includes her dog Buddy, and blogging/ emailing/ tweeting/ facebooking with her online friends.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

 

Rafflecopter Giveaway (Loveswept Ebook Bundle)
a Rafflecopter giveaway

OR,

Link to Rafflecopter Pagehttp://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/MjM1YmFiZTdlYjI3MzI3YWI0NTU3Mjk0OWM3MTIyOjI1Mg==/?

UNO

Excerpt

Today, like yesterday, and the day before that, Neve Jaimes thought dying would be easier than living. Mostly because she didn’t do sick very well.

“Damn this flu.” Damn feeling so weak and dizzy every time she tried to sit up. But she’d done it, had even managed to remain upright long enough to put on her bathrobe. Now, for the next challenge, she slid her bare feet into the slippers beside her bed, used her arms to push off, and stood with the ease of a severely arthritic 109-year-old. Everything hurt. Ten miserable days with no end in sight. “Enough already.” She needed to get well. Needed soup, which was why she’d forced herself out of bed.

With Mom and Dad away and her best friend, Brooke, now living hours from New York, there’d be no homemade chicken soup deliciousness in her immediate future. Takeout from the deli down the street would have to do.

In the kitchen Neve steadied herself against the counter long enough to pick out a spoon, then plopped into a chair, exhausted from expending the minuscule amount of energy required to travel a few dozen feet, thankful her one-bedroom condo was small and all on one level.

When someone knocked at the door she opened her eyes and lifted her head from where it rested on her folded arms on top of the table, but made no move toward the door, partly because she felt too dizzy to stand right at that moment, but mostly because her brother, Nate, the bringer of the soup, had a key.

She met the second, louder knock with a groan. Honestly, what the hell was the purpose of giving your overprotective big brother a key to your condo—which he had annoyed and harassed you for until you begrudgingly gave it to him—if he didn’t use that key for emergencies? Which this was, on account of Neve not being able to remember the last time anything other than ginger ale or warm tea had passed her lips. With her body completely depleted of nutrients, she needed sustenance to fight off the virus running rampant through her system.

Once the dizziness faded, Neve stood. “Pain in my ass.” And everywhere else, for that matter. Hunched over and clutching her old purple robe closed in front of her, she shuffled to the door and opened it. The whoosh of refreshingly cold November air felt good on her fevered skin. But the bright midday sun shot like spears into both eyes, blinding her. “Jeez.” She slapped a hand over her face, a little harder than intended, sending a throb of pain through her skull. “Owwwww. Did you bring the ibuprofen?”

“Neve?”

Shit. That didn’t sound like Nate. Positioning her hand like a visor, she squinted at her unwanted visitor, to find five feet, seven inches of sexy, way too good-looking male dressed in tan boots and matching light green camouflage pants, jacket, and bucket hat. Well, triple shit. It’d been four months since she’d met him in person for the first and only time, when she’d learned he wasn’t the good guy she’d thought him to be during their eight months as pen pals. This man who she’d confided in, who knew more about her life than her best friend and her brother, turned out to be a liar, and she wanted nothing to do with him.

“Go away, Rory.” She turned and reached out to slam the door in his face. In one quick motion, he stopped it. Most people would consider Rory average height for a guy, but he was much taller than Neve, who stood a tiny bit over five feet. And with his big, defined muscles, he had her beat in the strength department, too.

“What’s wrong, Neve? You look like crap.”

Probably smelled like crap, too, since she hadn’t bathed or changed her pajamas in . . . too many days. And you know what? She could care less. “Why, thank you for those kind words, you sweet-talker. You really know how to make a girl feel beautiful.” She tugged at the door again. It didn’t budge. “Now move your hand. I don’t have the strength to fight with you today.”

“Even if you did, I’d be ready for you this time.”

She did not appreciate the amusement in his voice. A few months ago she’d taken him, a U.S. Army soldier, down to the ground and incapacitated him, with surprisingly little effort, and they both knew it. “You promised not to come looking for me if I didn’t want to be found. If I recall correctly, you wrote, ‘But I swear on the life of Father McGinty, my priest back home, that when I’m stateside I’m not the man I need to be when I’m here, that I would never hurt you, or come looking for you if you didn’t want to be found.’”

Shifting so the sun wasn’t shining directly into her eyes, she gave him her very best glare. “And well, whaddya know? You did hurt me”—not physically and she’d never willingly admit how much—“and here you are. Again! There’s a reason I used a PO box, a reason I never gave you my home address. Because I didn’t want to be found! Maybe next time you should think twice before swearing on the life of your priest, because you, Rory McRoy, are a damn liar.”

That mini-tirade zapped what little strength Neve had, and she fell back against the door, trying to catch her breath, praying her legs would hold her up for a few more minutes.

He stepped toward her. Too close. “Let me—”

“No.” Neve tried to yank her arm out of his hold, her weakened state making the attempt totally ineffective, embarrassing even.

A deep, familiar, very welcome voice bellowed, “Get your hand off of my sister.”

Thank goodness. Help had arrived in the form of her six-foot-tall, big and strong police officer brother, in full uniform—which meant he had his gun. “Shoot him.” Of course he wouldn’t, but saying it felt good.

Cool, calm, and collected, Rory remained on track. “We need to talk, Neve.”

“No, we don’t.” This time when she pulled away he let her.

“Are you pregnant?” Rory asked, loud enough for Nate to hear.

Fan-tastic.

Nate yelled, “Why the hell does he think you’re pregnant?” as he came within arm’s reach of Rory. Close enough to strangle him, which might just come in handy.

 

3 Responses to “Review: All I Need Is You (Loving You #2) by Wendy S. Marcus”

  1. Wendy S. Marcus

    Thank you for hosting and reviewing. Sorry you didn’t like Neve. At times I didn’t like her either. But she is who she is.

  2. deb perry

    I wanted to smack Neve sometimes!! lol! I did enjoy reading the story though!