Review: Bared by Stacey Kennedy

February 10, 2014 Review 0

Review: Bared by Stacey Kennedy

In a novel that’s perfect for fans of Fifty Shades of Grey, Stacey Kennedy returns to Club Sin with another wicked and wild tale of submission, seduction, and love.

At Las Vegas’s exclusive Club Sin, Aidan Knight is the Master, unleashing the erotic yearnings of his submissive lovers. But his dominant façade conceals a devastating loss—something he instantly recognizes in his personally trained submissive Cora Adams. Sworn to unearth her secrets, Aidan uses his seductive skills to ignite her wildest desires until Cora yields to the pleasure she can find only with him.

Cora came to the BDSM club to act out her sub-and-dom fantasies without ever revealing the heartbreak that haunts her. But Aidan’s masterful touch is bringing her closer to the edge . . . and deeper into a world of control and surrender. He refuses to allow her to submit to any other man—nor does she want to. It’s a dangerous game they’re playing. For as they give in to passion, they must lay bare their souls for a love that could heal—and free—them both.

Bared is an erotic romance intended for mature audiences.

Title: Bared
Author: Stacey Kennedy
Other books by this author that we've reviewed: Eternally Devoted, Takedown , Werewolves Be Damned, Claimed
Series: Club Sin, #2
Other books in this series that we've reviewed: Claimed, Desired, Tamed, Commanded
Published by LoveSwept
Source: Publisher
Published: February 10, 2014
Genres: Erotic Contemporary Romance
Pages: 243
See the title at Goodreads
Purchase your copy: Amazon
Visit the Author's Website

Stars: three-half-stars
Flames: four-flames

Stacey Kennedy entertains in Bared, the second installment of the erotic romance series Club Sin.

The opening BDSM scene with Cora Adams and Master Aidan Knight is scorching hot, so much so that you’ll be fanning yourself. Cora and Aidan, although not in an exclusive relationship, have only played with each other in the dungeon at Club Sin for a couple of years. During these years, Cora’s feelings for Aidan have deepened and changed; she has fallen in love with him. Cora hasn’t told Aidan about her feelings because he is still grieving his wife’s passing and isn’t ready for more than play time. I really felt Cora’s anguish as her love for Aiden isn’t returned. At times, I found Cora’s inability to be honest with Aidan troublesome. Aidan has always felt their special connection at the club. After one of their scenes at the club, Aidan notices a deep hurt in Cora while she is talking to one of her friends. He pursues the issue with Cora relentlessly, changing the dynamics of their relationship in the process. When Cora finally admits her love, Aidan is blindsided by the news. I found Aidan’s character to be annoying at best. Everyone at the club could see that Cora is in love with him, but Aidan didn’t see it and couldn’t figure it out. As I read, I kept hoping that Aidan would get a clue, but there were too many roll-my-eyeball moments with his inability to assess his situation. Even though Cora and Aidan’s relationship is filled with angst, I was disappointed that there wasn’t enough romance to really build them into a couple to be reckoned with.

For me, Kennedy’s development of secondary characters, Porter Marshall, Cora’s ex-boyfriend, and Kyler Morgan, a Master at the club, saved this book. Porter and Kyler are wonderful friends in the way that they take care of Cora after everything goes down with Aidan. Blunt and brutally honest, Kyler reads Aidan the riot act about how his actions have hurt Cora, which I just adored. In the end, I really enjoyed the Porter and Kyler’s interactions with Cora and Aiden.

Even though I was disenchanted with the couple in this book, I found Bared to be an enjoyable read. I am hoping the next visit to Club Sin will be a better romance.

New Adult Romance
Comments are closed.