Review: Bearing It All (Highlander’s Beloved #3) by Vonnie Davis

October 26, 2015 Review 2

Review: Bearing It All  (Highlander’s Beloved #3) by Vonnie Davis

A Scottish hunter and a French secret agent find themselves on a collision course with danger—and irresistible desire—in Vonnie Davis’s new bear-shifting Highlander novel, perfect for fans of Jennifer Ashley and Shelly Laurenston.

In the pine-dense mountains of the Scottish Highlands, shape-shifter Ronan Matheson is running free when a desperate woman parachutes out of the sky, directly onto his furry, powerful chest. Instead of clawing her to death, Ronan’s inner bear longs to keep her safe. Once he’s back in human form, Ronan is amused by the mysterious beauty’s fearless attitude—and tempted by her expertly toned physique. But what could she possibly be doing in this isolated stretch of the Highlands?

French intelligence agent Anisa Brosseau never imagined she’d be on the CIA’s bad side—until she’s framed for treason and forced to flee in a stolen drone. Hiding out in a remote cabin, Anisa just needs some time to clear her name. What she doesn’t need is a brooding, muscle-bound Scot in a skimpy kilt to drive her crazy with lust. But when Anisa’s enemies come knocking on his door, Ronan calls on a secret weapon to protect his turf and the bonny lass he’s come to love.

Title: Bearing It All
Author: Vonnie Davis
Other books by this author that we've reviewed: A Highlander's Obsession, A Highlander's Obsession, A Highlander's Passion, Her Survivor
Published by LoveSwept
Source: Publisher
Published: October 27th 2015
Genres: Erotic Paranormal Romance, Erotic Romance, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Romance
Pages: 255 pages
See the title at Goodreads
Purchase your copy: Amazon
Visit the Author's Website
Visit the Goodreads Series Page

Stars: four-stars
Flames: three-half-flames
Breaking a Legend

Bearing It All is book three in the Highlander’s Beloved series by Vonnie Davis. I jumped into this one not having read books one or two and had no problems reading it. For fans of Highland romances with men in kilts-it’s got that. For fans of paranormal bear shifters- it’s got that. For fans of spy intrigue type dramas-it’s got that too! This book encompasses all of these and it is done with such finesse! Oh and did I mention it’s spiciness?? Gosh I wasn’t able to set this down and I doubt you will too!

We start out with Ronan visiting his cottage up in the Highlands to rest, relax and let his bear run free in the wild. While out on a run, he sees what he thinks is a plane on a collision course and a person parachute out right before the crash. This person smacks straight into him-in bear form and both are flustered. Anisa is pissed and once landed is spitting and sputtering! Ronan doesn’t know what to think about this behavior. Most people scream or whatever to flee a bear. He’s intrigued and doesn’t do anything but look at her and then ambles off. Anisa gathers her wits and begins a trek through the woods knowing she’s got to get moving. She’s a French agent being framed by her government so she fled. She happens upon a cottage and knowing she needs shelter, she knocks on the door.

Ronan answered the door-in human form-and he’s taken with Anisa. A love at first sight and his bear agrees. After some funny moments and conversation, Ronan and Anisa realize they actually met years before while on vacation. He was in love with her then and now has a second shot. Knowing operatives will come looking for her, Ronan and “brother bear” vow to protect her and help to clear her name.

This is a funny and comical romance I really liked! Anisa is a firecracker and super smart! Ronan is very sweet but it’s his bear that had me cracking up! The back and forth bantering was humorous! The quest to clear her name is very entertaining and hilarious at times. The only thing I had to get used to is that Ronan and his bear are written more like a split personality. It wasn’t bad, I just had to get used to it! The bear doesn’t know what Ronan is doing if he shields him and when Brother Bear wants out and emerges, Ronan doesn’t know what he’s done until he’s back in control and has to clean up his messes. In a lot of shifter novels, the person who shifts is in control of both identities at all times. The situations Brother Bear puts Ronan in are pretty funny.

This book was a marvelous detraction from how I thought this book was going to go! Vonnie Davis writes with such a sense of humor surrounded by a serious story, it lightens the book’s whole tone and it’s a very enjoyable ride I think you may also enjoy!

Sourcebooks

Link to Follow Tour:  http://www.tastybooktours.com/2015/08/bearing-it-all-highlanders-beloved-3-by.html

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22890402-bearing-it-all?ac=1

Goodreads Series Link: https://www.goodreads.com/series/134541-highlander-s-beloved

 

Buy Links:  Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo

 

 

Author InfoScotty

Vonnie Davis, who studied English at Penn State, likens herself to a croissant: crusty, wrinkled, flaky—and best served with strong coffee. After a career as a technical writer, she’s spending her retirement playing fairy godmother to her characters, giving them their happily-ever-afters. Six fantastic, talented kids call her “Grandma” and brighten her world in so many ways. She lives in Southern Virginia with her husband, author Calvin Davis.

 

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

 

LoveSwept
Now what was he supposed to do? “Bloody hell! Not only am I stuck with a woman, but a feisty, hardheaded one, at that.”
“Take your Scottish skirt, your hairy muscular legs, and go back inside. Leave. Me. Alone.”
Look, she likes yer legs. She’s not wimpy. I like her spirit.
“Yer opinion has nay bearing in this matter.”
“Does too,” she mumbled and shifted away from the rock’s roughest edge.
Bloody hell, she thought he was talking to her. Ronan stooped so he could examine her; at least her hearing was still good. She’d taken quite a tumble over that boulder he’d tried digging out on several occasions, but that was just too damn big to remove by himself. The deeper he shoveled, the larger the feckin’ thing became. “Are ye hurt, lassie?” He ran his hands over her, searching for broken bones.
She rolled and, before he knew what she was about, wrapped her thighs around his legs, slipped her arms under his armpits and flipped him over her head. He landed on his back, the wind knocked out of him, and his Scottish temper rose like the mist over the bogs.
Oh yeah, I like her. Shift, so I can play tumble, too.
“Ye are a fool if ye think ye’re playing tumble with her.”
The woman slowly stood and weaved for a bit. “What in the hell are you talking about? I wasn’t playing tumble. I was getting your grubby hands off me.” She pressed two fingertips to the part of her forehead exposed by the helmet. “Why do I feel as if I’m having a three-way conversation?”
“I wasna making improper advances. I know how nasty that blasted boulder is. I was merely searching fer any injuries ye may have suffered.” Ronan backflipped into a stand. “Ye look exhausted, even though ye still have enough vinegar in yer system to knock me on me arse. I apologize for me boorish actions earlier. Of course ye’re welcome to spend the night in me warm cabin, fed and undisturbed.”
“After all I’ve been through this past week, I don’t trust you any more than a rabid dog or a raging bear.” She planted her hands on her rounded hips. “Frankly, your change in attitude is too quick to be believed. Even so, my French politeness demands I apologize.” She glanced away fer a beat as if the apology was going to cost her a fine fortune.
Then her gaze connected with his and part of him, his soul, his heart—he had nay clue—did a strange, slow roll, taking his breath with it. “Sir, you are much too kind. As dirty as I am, I’d only mess up your house. I’ll just keep moving on.” She bent to retrieve her flashlight. “Thank you. I’m sorry for my attitude. I know I was being bitchy.” She gave an audible sigh and shook her head a time or two. “That remark about your skirt was also uncalled for. I hope you’ll forgive me for my thoughtlessness.”
Her heartfelt request fer forgiveness softened his mood. “Outsiders dinna understand the strong pride we have fer our plaid, our kilts, our traditions. Come inside. I’ll heat ye some soup.”
“Thanks, but no. An intelligent woman would not go into a strange man’s cabin alone.” She made two steps and he picked her up by the waist and tossed her over his shoulder. She wrapped one arm around his neck, inhaled his woodsy scent as she clasped that wrist with her other one, shifted over a tad, and kneed him in the balls.
“Jesus, Mary, and Joseph,” he breathed as he dropped to his knees, released his grasp on her, and rolled onto his side, holding his privates. “Bloody fokin’ hell. What did I do to deserve that?”
Anisa leaned over him. “Feeling a little sick to your stomach, are you?”
“Ye are a demon. A ball-crushing demon.” He held his crotch, his knees bent and his kilt showing he wore nothing beneath it.
She shuffled from one foot to the other as she stared at his Scottish bagpipe. Bet he could hit a lot of high notes with that thing. “You . . . you startled me when you grabbed me like that.”
“Well, ye needna be afraid now. I couldna molest ya, even if I wanted to, which I dinna. I’m betting foreplay with ye would be like grabbing hold of an electrical wire while sitting in a tub of water.” He groaned and cussed some more. “Hell, I bet yer vagina is lined with shark’s teeth.” His continued gasping still indicated he was fighting for enough breath to talk.
She leaned over and shook a finger at him. “Just keep that image in your mind, buster, and we’ll get along fine.”
loveswept

2 Responses to “Review: Bearing It All (Highlander’s Beloved #3) by Vonnie Davis”

  1. Lori Meehan

    I loved this book and this series is really good. I had the pleasure of meeting Vonnie Davis in NY this summer. She was a delight!