Review: Filthy Rich by Virna DePaul

November 14, 2015 Review 0

Review: Filthy Rich by Virna DePaul

High finance and a sizzling office affair raise desire and passion to the boiling point in Virna DePaul’s seductive new contemporary romance—perfect for fans of Carly Phillips, Lori Foster, and Molly O’Keefe.

Cara Michal has had to fight every step of the way to earn her place in the glittering seven-figure world of Wall Street. Years ago her hardworking father, a small-time investment adviser, was wrongfully accused of fraud. Now Cara is at the top of her game, supporting not only herself but her mother and brother. The occasional night out dancing soothes Cara’s soul, even as a bitter need for revenge against the man who destroyed her father makes inner peace elusive.

Then, in a moment of heat, Cara kisses a sexy stranger at a party—only later to discover that the man is Branden Duke, her new boss, an infamous operator with a wicked reputation in bed and on the Street. Branden is a man who seemingly has it all—except a woman who connects with him on a physical and emotional level. Now that he’s found Cara, he’s not sure he can let her go, even if he should.

In spite of herself, Cara is drawn to this charismatic guy. He is a challenge like none she has ever faced in her life. Their passion for each other is unquenchable, surprising them both with its ferocity. Even as Cara wonders if she can trust this man with her heart and soul, the ecstasy of their love cannot be denied. But when the past threatens the present, the two are faced with a truth from which they may never recover.

Title: Filthy Rich
Author: Virna DePaul
Other books by this author that we've reviewed: A Vampire's Salvation, Turned
Published by Bantam
Source: Author
Published: October 27, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
See the title at Goodreads
Purchase your copy: Amazon
Visit the Author's Website

Stars: three-half-stars
Flames: three-flames

Based off the blurb for Filthy Rich. I was expecting to read another billionaire romance story. Normally I shy away from them because there’s only so much variation you can spin on rich/guy seducing average girl and still keep it original. But this was a Virna DePaul book, and I do so enjoy her PNR titles, so I decided to give it a twirl. What I got was a spicy romance with intrigue to keep me guessing until the very end.

 

Brandon I really like. Charming, smexy and playful, his character was a joy. He has his secrets but instead of coming off as a rich, snobby jerk, I found him very down to earth. And then there’s Cara. She really had me on the fence of like/dislike. I found her to be very smart and a likable enough character. Things between Brandon and her were interesting as well. I enjoyed their banter and the sex. It was her yes/no, want/can’t flip/flopping back and forth that I found grating. You want to stand on your own two feet? Got it. Your dad got screwed over and you want to redeem him. Fine by me. You don’t want to depend on anybody but Brandon is sexy as sin but he’s your boss but you didn’t know it when you kissed him? But… But… But… It just had me wanting to shake her and tell her ‘Honey, fish or cut bait’.

 

The story itself I really enjoyed. The whole whodunit was spun very well. There was plenty of plot twists to keep everything rolling along quickly. Add to that a list of sleazy and/or suspicious characters that had me guessing until the very end. Really fooled me when the real bad guy was exposed. On top of the ‘bad’ guys was other secondaries, mainly Brandon’s sisters, that I enjoyed. Their input and sisterly banter had me smiling. Despite all the yes/no from Cara, Filthy Rich was a really good book to read. Ms. DePaul’s fans are going to eat this one up.

 

Filthy Rich
Comments are closed.