Review: Forgotten Promises (Lost Boys) by Jessica Lemmon

January 15, 2016 Review 0

Review: Forgotten Promises (Lost Boys) by Jessica Lemmon

Perfect for fans of Jay Crownover and Jennifer L. Armentrout, this edgy, seductive novel from Jessica Lemmon (“An author to keep your eye on!”—Katee Robert) introduces the ultimate bad boy . . . and a love that crosses all boundaries.

Morgan Young had a perfect upbringing, and now she’s got a perfect boyfriend and a perfect future—until her twenty-first birthday changes everything. First Morgan finds out, in the most painful way possible, that her relationship is a sham. But that’s nothing compared to the nightmare about to unfold.

It’s too late for Tucker Noscalo. A brutal childhood left him with a bad reputation and a criminal record. Fresh out of jail, Tucker has a score to settle with Baybrook’s crooked chief of police—his own father. Nobody will believe Tucker’s explosive accusations without proof and a good lawyer, neither of which he has on his side. Until he sees someone he used to know, someone who just so happens to be the daughter of the best lawyer in the county.

He needs Morgan to convince her father of the ugly truth. But first he has to convince her, and he’ll do whatever it takes to get her to listen. Confronted by the story of Tucker’s dark past, Morgan feels utterly compelled to help him. And as their connection grows into a fierce bond fueled by raw passion, Morgan finds herself falling for the wrong guy—but never has the promise of love felt so right.

Title: Forgotten Promises
Author: Jessica Lemmon
Other books by this author that we've reviewed: If You Dare, Fighting for Devlin, Shut Up and Kiss Me, Eye Candy
Other books in this series that we've reviewed: Fighting for Devlin, Shut Up and Kiss Me
Published by LoveSwept
Source: Author
Published: January 19, 2016
Genres: New Adult
Pages: 193
See the title at Goodreads
Purchase your copy: Amazon
Visit the Author's Website
Visit the Goodreads Series Page

Stars: four-stars
Flames: three-flames
I received this book for free from the Publisher or Author in exchange for an honest review, or I purchased it with my own funds. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
300 Review

Forgotten Promises was definitely not what I expected. The blurb threw me for a loop. Fresh out of jail I expected Tucker to be this badass, heartless, tough guy. I expected Morgan to be a bit of fluff since she had everything as ‘perfect. Nope, this book was definitely not what I expected.

Let’s start with Tucker. ‘A brutal childhood left him with a bad reputation and a criminal record’. That was telling me he’s going to be a tough street-smart guy. That was only partially right. Oh yes he is tough, but there is a very fragile, broken soul to his thoughts and actions. All of it tied to his childhood. Morgan on the other hand, I was worried I was going to be reading about a princess. She could have come off as being an airheaded snob. Instead, she was a completely likable and her reactions to both getting dumped, then getting kidnapped were completely believable. Her gradual change from survival to caring for Tucker was sweet and emotional. You can tell they had both been hurt and wanted to trust each other. Trust isn’t a insta-situation. It’s something that has to happen gradually. I think Ms. Lemmon did a great job of capturing it and revealing it in just the right way so that, as they began that journey of healing, you didn’t feel it was fake.

Despite the ugliness of the hows and whys of Tucker’s actions, Forgotten Promises made for a very powerful read. Theirs is quite a bit of horror in his life and as each leave the truth comes out, you can’t help but fall in love with him. What really brings it all together and makes this book shine is the duel 1st person POVs. Seeing through Tucker’s and Morgan’s eyes, experiencing their thoughts and feeling, leaves you with a profound mixture of happiness, sadness and longing. Throwing my misconceptions aside, I found the further into the story I got I was left with a raw gritty story of a broken man, seeking revenge and finding redemption and healing, and eventually…love. Forgotten Promises definitely makes for a very good read and is well worth recommending.

***SPOILER ALERT…read at your own risk***
I’m not one to do spoilers but sometimes I think they are a necessary evil, especially when there is a dark element. I do understand why it was left out of the blurb. It makes for quite the shocker when it is revealed and makes everything, all of Tucker’s actions, click right into place. But still, there quite a few readers out there when coming across what Tucker’s brutal childhood entailed may become upset. So for those of you who have issues of child abuse, especially of a sexual nature, Forgotten Promises is not for you. No, there are no extreme details and really, it isn’t necessary. Knowing what happened is enough.

 

Forgotten Promises
Comments are closed.