Review: Gone Without A Trace by Mary Torjussen

April 11, 2017 Review 0

Review: Gone Without A Trace by Mary Torjussen

GONE WITHOUT A TRACE by Mary Torjussen is a chilling psychological thriller about a woman whose boyfriend has vanished. Fans of I LET YOU GO and THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN will be gripped.

No one ever disappears completely...

You leave for work one morning.

Another day in your normal life.

Until you come home to discover that your boyfriend has gone.
His belongings have disappeared.
He hasn't been at work for weeks.
It's as if he never existed.

But that's not possible, is it?

And if he has gone without a trace
why do you still feel that someone is watching you?

Title: Gone Without A Trace
Author: Mary Torjussen
Published by Berkley
Source: Publisher
Published: April 18th 2017
Genres: Psychological Thriller
Pages: 352 pages
See the title at Goodreads
Purchase your copy: Amazon
Visit the Author's Website

Stars: three-stars
Flames: zero-flames
I received this book for free from the Publisher or Author in exchange for an honest review, or I purchased it with my own funds. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
300 Review

Well it took me a couple of days to formulate what I wanted to say about Gone Without a Trace.  This is a decidedly different type story from my norm and I am questioning why I deviated.  It’s not that I didn’t like the book, I just didn’t connect with the character so maybe that’s why it was a lackluster read for me.

Hannah was out of town at a training course.  She finds out she’s up for a huge-job of your dreams-promotion at work.  All she wants is to share her big news and to celebrate with her four year boyfriend, Matt. She’s jumping up and down excited.

When she arrives home, she finds an empty home. Matt is nowhere to be seen.  And it’s not just that Matt is gone.  All of his things are too! And what’s more, every thing about this man is like he’s been erased-pictures, social media accounts, email, and phone-all gone. Hanna is dumbfounded.  She feels understandably upset and like a fool.  She wants an explanation-she deserves one.
What starts out as a quest for the truth, finding Matt, turns into an obsession.  Road block after road block, Hannah is dismayed. She’s quickly spiraling down a self-destructive path we can only watch from the sidelines.

Her friends tell her to move on, but she can’t.  Someone is sending her odd texts and subtle signs of someone in her house. Is she being watched?? She thinks it’s Matt, and he will eventually come back to her.

I rooted for Hannah, because no one likes to get dumped and with no reason.  But as the story progressed, I didn’t like the destructive path Hannah was headed down. There was definitely something wrong with her. She was manic depressive and her obsession was driving her.  She was destroying her life-a life she worked hard to have-and all on account of this man leaving her.

I knew if everything was “erased” as it was, there had better be a good reason for it.  It messed with your head that’s for sure!  When everything went down, I was like gosh….oh I get it. But did I get it??  I truly don’t know.  With this major twist, you are forced to rethink everything you thought you knew up to that point. And although it was cleverly done, I know I am not a fan of these thriller-types of mess with your head books!

Gone Without a Trace is one of those love em or leave em type books.  It was well written and for that I give it an extra star. The characters were abysmal. I guess I was left with still wanting to know more. You may take this at face value and love it for what it is.  Unfortunately, it just did not tick the boxes for me.

Sourcebooks

Comments are closed.