Review: Heartthrob (Hollywood Hearts Book 1) by Belinda Williams

November 15, 2016 Review 2

Review: Heartthrob (Hollywood Hearts Book 1) by Belinda Williams

Can an average girl survive Hollywood?

Ally Valenti doesn’t belong in Hollywood. Not like her friend and actress, Lena Lyons. Lena’s convinced Ally to pursue her dreams of fashion design, starting with some gowns for the awards season.

Which Ally will get around to creating as soon as she can stop looking at Jacob Swan, Lena’s latest co-star. Not that she’s staring. Ally’s skeptical of anything celebrity and it’s not like she’d be pathetic enough to fall for a Hollywood heartthrob.

Then Ally learns there’s more to Jacob than his good-guy, all-American persona. She finds herself torn between the desire to get to know him better and her determination to stay out of the limelight.

Of course the media has other ideas—and someone doesn’t like all the attention Ally’s getting. When threats aimed at destroying her fashion career go too far, Ally’s convinced she’s living in crazy town.

The sensible thing would be to retreat home before it all ends in spectacular fashion. But will Ally be leaving more than her dreams behind if she says goodbye to Hollywood?

This glamorous, fast-paced contemporary romance that will make you smile, is perfect for fans of Rachel Gibson, Victoria Dahl, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, and Liliana Hart.

Title: Heartthrob
Author: Belinda Williams
Series: Hollywood Hearts #1
Published by BWrite
Source: Publisher
Published: November 10, 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Drama, Romance, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 350
See the title at Goodreads
Purchase your copy: Amazon
Visit the Author's Website

Stars: four-stars
Flames: three-flames
I received this book for free from the Publisher or Author in exchange for an honest review, or I purchased it with my own funds. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
300 Review
BWrite

Why would anyone willingly choose to live the Hollywood life, besides the money? That is what Ally keeps asking herself as she boards a plane to Hollywood to live with her movie star best friend Lena. Ally has this amazing opportunity to finally work on her dream and passion but she desperately wants to stay out of the lime light. Crazy fans, constant media coverage, America’s heartthrob’s current lover and a blooming career that is taking off-seems surreal.

I will admit I fell in love with the cover and is what drew me in. The blurb kept me hooked. Then I read the first few chapters and I was not totally convinced I could make it through the book. Ally has a shy yet in your face attitude and is not afraid to tell you how it is. She spent most of the book biting back her response yet still maintaining the ‘Bambi’ look. Ally and Lena’s friendship did not give off best friend vibes as Ally claimed them to be.

However, when things start to really heat up the book got a whole lot more interesting. I have a nasty habit of trying to figure out the plot twist early on in the book. I was pleasantly surprised actually how the book ended. I really did not see it coming. Nor the actions of both Ally and Jacob. The supporting cast was great, well except for Leon.

Growing up close to Hollywood, it was nice to see some of the landscape written into the book. Not everyone appreciates the beauty Hollywood really has, so it was a nice surprise to see it eloquently detailed. Overall, this book started off a bit slow and not my style. Too sweet in some cases. But once the drama started happening I could not put the book down. Perfect for contemporary romance lovers with a bit of humor added in .

I was gifted a copy of this novel from the JeepDiva in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

Link to Follow Tour:   http://tastybooktours.com/tours-master/2016/08/heartthrob-hollywood-hearts-1-byhtml

 

Buy Links:      AmazonB & N | iTunes | Kobo

 

 

 

Author InfoTasty Tours

Belinda Willliams is a marketing communications specialist and copywriter who allowed an addiction to romance and chick-lit to get the better of her. She was named a top ten finalist in the Romance Writers of Australia Emerald Award in both 2013 and 2014.

Her other addictions include music and cars. Belinda’s eclectic music taste forms the foundation of many of her writing ideas and her healthy appreciation for fast cars means she would not so secretly love a Lamborghini. For now she’ll have to settle with her son’s Hot Wheels collection and writing hot male leads with sports cars.

Belinda lives in Sydney and blogs regularly about writing and reading at www.belindawilliamsbooks.com

 

 Author Links:   Website | Facebook | Twitter | GoodReads

 

 

 

Avon Romance
Excerpt

Unfortunately, no amount of warning would be adequate to prepare me for Jacob Swan in a suit. Dear God. There had to be laws against tailoring that good. The suit molded to every inch of his muscled body like it had been sculpted on. It was a dusky blue and I knew without looking it matched the color of his eyes. Even as my heart stuttered in my chest, I recognized superb tailoring when I saw it.

“Talk to me, Ally,” Lena suggested. “You’re staring.”

“Can’t help it.”

And I really couldn’t. His ensemble was perfect. Crisp white shirt, a simple matching blue tie, and brown boots. Most people would have worn a black tuxedo for an event like the Golden Globes, but not Jake. The brown boots were a perfect contrast to the blue suit and hinted at a man comfortable with himself. But I guess when you were considered the sexiest man in Hollywood, that kind of came with the territory.

“Still staring,” Lena said in a singsong voice.

“Don’t care,” I sang back.

“Makes you seem desperate,” she continued the tune, her voice heightening to a soprano.

Finally I turned to her. “I am. Desperate to know his stylist.”

Lena’s expression morphed into one of disbelief. “Are you serious?”

“Absolutely. I mean, look at the guy. Dressed to perfection.” I waved my hand in Jake’s general direction, but my arm ended up hovering in mid-air as our eyes met through the crowd.

My heart continued to thump erratically in my chest, feeling as though it was about to give out completely.

Alright, so it wasn’t just his ensemble. It was him. One hundred percent pure Jake. It was those blue eyes of his. They were so alive, so expressive, a woman could drown in his gaze and enjoy the experience. They danced with amusement at me in the dim light.

To ensure my demise, he flashed me a cocky grin.

2 Responses to “Review: Heartthrob (Hollywood Hearts Book 1) by Belinda Williams”

  1. Crystal, Tasty Book Tours

    Thank you for taking the time to review HEARTTHROB today!