Review: Lost and Found Sisters (Wildstone #1) by Jill Shalvis

June 30, 2017 Review 0

Review: Lost and Found Sisters (Wildstone #1) by Jill Shalvis

From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes her first women's fiction novel—an unforgettable story of friendship, love, family, and sisterhood—perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover, Susan Mallery, and Kristan Higgins.

They say life can change in an instant…

After losing her sister in a devastating car accident, chef Quinn Weller is finally getting her life back on track. She appears to have it all: a loving family, a dream job in one of L.A.'s hottest eateries, and a gorgeous boyfriend dying to slip an engagement ring on her finger. So why does she feel so empty, like she's looking for a missing piece she can't find?

The answer comes when a lawyer tracks down Quinn and reveals a bombshell secret and a mysterious inheritance that only she can claim. This shocking revelation washes over Quinn like a tidal wave. Her whole life has been a lie.

On impulse, Quinn gives up her job, home, and boyfriend. She heads up the coast to the small hometown of Wildstone, California, which is just a few hours north, but feels worlds apart from Los Angeles. Though she doesn't quite fit in right away, she can't help but be drawn to the town’s simple pleasures…and the handsome, dark-haired stranger who offers friendship with no questions asked.

As Quinn settles into Wildstone, she discovers there's another surprise in store for her. The inheritance isn't a house or money, but rather something earthshattering, something that will make her question everything she thought she knew about herself, about her family. Now with a world of possibilities opening up to Quinn, she must decide if this new life is the one she was always meant to have—and the one that could finally give her the fulfillment she's searched so long for.

Title: Lost and Found Sisters
Author: Jill Shalvis
Other books by this author that we've reviewed: Sweet Little Lies, One Snowy Night, One Snowy Night, Accidentally on Purpose (Heartbreaker Bay #3)
Series: Wildstone
Published by William Morrow
Source: Publisher
Published: June 20, 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 400
See the title at Goodreads
Purchase your copy: Amazon
Visit the Author's Website
Visit the Goodreads Series Page

Stars: four-stars
Flames: three-flames
I received this book for free from the Publisher or Author in exchange for an honest review, or I purchased it with my own funds. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
300 Review

With Shalvis’s new series, she dips into the Women’s Fiction genre, starting off with the reveal of a secret that affects our heroine, Quinn. Some spoilers ahead.

Quinn is suffering from a deep grief of losing her sister and best friend. It’s been a couple years and Quinn’s had yet to feel anything – she just floats along, existing, in a life that, on paper, looks perfect. But when the first secret is revealed — that she’s adopted, and has inherited a run-down bakery in an equally run-down town — Quinn finally has a spark lit. She’s angry at her parents, who seem to simply not care that she’s upset (they had a “get over it” mentality – I disliked them a LOT, though they weren’t exactly unkind). She has a panic attack, she’s got mixed emotions, she’s just all over the place. Quinn is completely relatable and level-headed and shaken up, and her character development throughout the novel is phenomenal.

Mick is the guy who left Wildstone, CA, and never wanted to return. But when he meets Quinn, there’s something about her that draws him back, over and over again. He’s working through some past issues he had with his dad, who’s no longer alive, and really does not want to be trapped in the little town. He’s one of the good guys, never pushing Quinn too hard, always helping out his family, etc. His character arc is pretty smooth, too; watching him figure out how to make a life with Quinn work while not sacrificing himself was satisfying to watch.

The wild card in this story is the long lost sister…secret #2.

Avon Romance
Comments are closed.