Review: Major Misconduct (Aces Hockey #1) by Kelly Jamieson

October 9, 2015 Review 0

Review: Major Misconduct (Aces Hockey #1) by Kelly Jamieson

In Kelly Jamieson’s seductive new Chicago Aces romance—perfect for readers of Sawyer Bennett and Toni Aleo—a fun-loving free spirit tempts an uptight hockey star into opening himself up to love.

As the captain of the Chicago Aces, Marc Dupuis is all business. The apartment he shares with his teammate and best friend, Duncan, is a refuge from the pressures of fame. But when the sexiest woman he’s ever seen interrupts his early morning coffee wearing only a skimpy cami and matching panties, Marc can’t exactly say he minds. Their chemistry is off the charts. Unfortunately, this girl’s no random puck bunny. She’s Duncan’s little sister—and she’s moving in.

Lovey Armstrong could stare at Marc’s chiseled abs and listen to his French-Canadian accent all day. She just has no idea what’s going on inside his head: When he’s not charming her pants off, Marc makes a Zamboni machine seem warm and cuddly. Lovey knows the team’s bro code says no messing with sisters, but all these mixed messages are hard on a girl’s self-esteem—especially since she’s finally getting her new life together in Chicago. She decides he’s worth another shot . . . because if anyone can melt the ice around Marc’s heart, it’s Lovey.

Title: Major Misconduct
Author: Kelly Jamieson
Other books by this author that we've reviewed: Limited Time Offer, Off Limits, Shut Out, Long Shot (Last Shot #3)
Series: Aces Hockey #1
Other books in this series that we've reviewed: Off Limits
Published by LoveSwept
Source: Publisher
Published: October 13th 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romance, Sports Theme
Pages: 278 pages
See the title at Goodreads
Purchase your copy: Amazon

Stars: three-stars
Flames: three-flames

This is a story about Marc and Lovey. Marc is the captain of the Chicago Aces Hockey team. He wants to be the best so that means taking care of himself and not succumbing to the pressures surrounding him. He eats right, no drinking, he gets enough sleep. Then there’s Lovey, his roommate’s sister that comes to live with her brother only wasn’t prepared for Marc his sexy roommate. Marc is attracted to Lovey but they have a code and that means she is off limits! But temptation is too strong and before we know it, Marc and Lovey are involved.

I had a hard time with this book all around. At times I liked Lovey because she was smart and had a way of looking at the world that just brightens your day. But at times she also was childish. She comes to Chicago and just assumes her brother will take care of her until she gets going with her plans. What her plans are she never told him so after awhile her freeloading is making him a bit upset. She also has a weird thing with cheese I just didn’t get. Now Marc I liked- what we knew of him. Of course, sexy and built, but I wanted to know so much more about him. Yes he’s quiet, nice, considerate, funny-when he wants to be, yet we really never know much about his personality. I would have liked more background on him.

Did I like the book? Yes I did and I would recommend it. It moves along, but isn’t anything spectacular. The couple works as they complement each other. One being reserved the other outgoing. They are sweet together and the story is what you would expect-sweet. Marc seemed a lot more invested in their relationship than Lovey. I got the feeling she could just cut and run at any time and know she would fall on her feet. They did nothing to make me want to root for them as a couple so for that reason we just didn’t connect.

Sourcebooks
Comments are closed.