Review: Rich Pickings (A Richness of Swallows #2) by Ashe Barker

October 3, 2014 Review 0

Review: Rich Pickings (A Richness of Swallows #2) by Ashe Barker

She craves control. He demands her naked surrender.

Dan Riche was the one man she hoped never to encounter again, so when she ran into him unexpectedly at a wedding, Summer Jones couldn’t be held responsible for her actions. Except, Dan thinks differently. He intends to punish her for lashing out at him in her frustration, and much to her surprise, Summer intends to let him.

Reunited with her closest friend, Freya, and finding new friends and fabulous opportunities at Black Combe, Summer is soon caught up in a passionate relationship with Dan as he reintroduces her to his powerful brand of kink. He effortlessly awakens all her submissive instincts, and Summer’s resistance crumbles along with her doubts. But even as she responds to Dan, can she leave the shadows of her past behind?

Dan confuses her. He scares her. He makes her do things she never dreamed possible, and she loves all of it. But Summer prefers her life to be tidy, doesn’t she? Where does a turbulent relationship with a fascinating, unpredictable Dom fit in to her ordered existence? He punishes her, hurts her, controls her pleasure, demands her obedience.

Summer always needed to be in control. Now she’s naked, on her knees at his feet. Dan demands her submission. Can she relinquish her fragile hold on her security and trust him instead?

Reader Advisory: This book contains anal play and references to remembered scenes of dubious consent.

Publisher's Note: This book is best read in sequence as part of a serial. Some of the characters in this book also appear in Ashe Barker's other serials. These serials can all stand alone but are best enjoyed in order: The Dark Side, Sure Mastery, The Hardest Word, A Richness of Swallows.

Title: Rich Pickings
Author: Ashe Barker
Other books by this author that we've reviewed: The Darkening, Darkening, Darker, Darkest
Series: A Richness of Swallows #2
Other books in this series that we've reviewed: Rich Tapestry, Rich Promise
Published by Totally Bound
Source: Author
Published: October 3rd 2014
Genres: Erotic Contemporary Romance
See the title at Goodreads
Purchase your copy: Amazon
Visit the Author's Website

Stars: five-stars
Flames: four-flames
Totally Bound Banner



Rich Pickings is the second book in the A Richness of Swallows series and unlike all the other seconds in the Black Combe tetralogy t’s lacking something. Don’t take this the wrong way because I don’t mean it as a bad thing. What this book, what this series is doing is giving me both a great love story between between Dan and Summer as well as giving me closer with all the other characters. Let me break it down.

For starters, Summer and Dan. Cute couple. Sorry, cute Dom/sub. He’s really managing to bring out the submissive in her. Yes things are quite hot and yummy between them. Hope you like backdoor action because there is quite a bit of it. As their relationship progresses I don’t feel there is quite the story line tension between them that plagued the other couples along their journey. Another thing that is lacking, that OMG! cliffhanger I have come to expect from Ms. Barker. I KNOW Summer has some underlying issues that she has yet to deal, that have yet to be exposed to Dan and worked out. Summer just seems to have magically gotten over her neat freak issues (Read: OCD) and the traumas from her childhood. I thought for sure they would have all somehow would have come to light by now and that would have been the jaw dropping cliffhanger. Maybe in the next book???

The second thing thing this series has going for it is weaving all four series together. I’m getting to enjoy what came after the HEA from the previous series. Ms. Barker has very successfully brought all the characters, wove their timelines together so perfectly that I just know I will be ruined for any other crossover stories I ever read. By the end of Rich Pickings, almost all the previous storylines have come to an end and in the last book what happens four all of the characters should be a new and fascinating journey. This my friends is what I LOVE about this series. Getting to find out what has happened and getting all those lingering questions answered.Man I love it when those little bows get tied.

One more thing to add; the series name and cover. The series name, I actually Googled it. Very clever and unique! Read the book first then you’ll understand. As for the cover – It’s all beginning to make sense to me now. Have you figured it out yet?

I’ve been a fan of Ashe Barker’s for quite some time now. Really don’t think she can write anything bad. This Black Combe tetralogy has been a absolute blast for me. I have fallen in love with all the couples and it will be a sad day for this reader when it all comes to an end. Now as much as I would like to say yes you can read just this series, in reality, you can’t. There are too many plots twisted together that should you start with the A Richness of Swallows series first, nothing regarding the other characters will make sense. Read Rich Pickings but only after you have read all the other books first. One more book left to go!


Rich Pickings



Comments are closed.