Review: Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery by Jenny Colgan

April 8, 2016 Review 0

Review: Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery by Jenny Colgan

The New York Times bestselling author of Little Beach Street Bakery and Christmas at the Cupcake Café returns with a delightful new novel—with recipes!—that is already an international bestseller and is perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Meg Donohue, and Sophie Kinsella.

For fans of Jojo Moyes and Elin Hilderbrand, an irresistible novel—moving and funny, soulful and sweet—about happiness, heartache, and hope. And recipes.

A thriving bakery. A lighthouse to call home. A handsome beekeeper. A pet puffin. These are the things that Polly Waterford can call her own. This is the beautiful life she leads on a tiny island off the southern coast of England.

But clouds are gathering on the horizon. A stranger threatens to ruin Polly’s business. Her beloved boyfriend seems to be leading a secret life. And the arrival of a newcomer—a bereft widow desperately searching for a fresh start—forces Polly to reconsider the choices she’s made, even as she tries to help her new friend through grief.

Unpredictable and unforgettable, this delightful novel will make you laugh, cry, and long for a lighthouse of your own. Recipes included.

Title: Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery
Author: Jenny Colgan
Other books by this author that we've reviewed: The Bookshop on the Corner
Series: Little Beach Street Bakery #2
Published by William Morrow
Source: Publisher
Published: February 2015
Genres: Woman's Fiction
Pages: 397
See the title at Goodreads
Purchase your copy: Amazon
Visit the Author's Website
Visit the Goodreads Series Page

Stars: four-stars
Flames: zero-flames
I received this book for free from the Publisher or Author in exchange for an honest review, or I purchased it with my own funds. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
300 Review

Jenny Colgan effortlessly transported me to the gorgeous, rough Cornish coast of England in this British Women’s Fiction novel.

It’s summertime in the quaint seaside town of Mount Holbearne and Polly Waterford is happier than she’s ever been – she’s living the dream she didn’t know she had. She and her near-perfect boyfriend, Huckle, live in the town’s lighthouse, and she’s running the Beach Street Bakery on her own terms without the stresses that come with owning it.

Just as Polly’s settled into her new love for life, Selina moves into town. A widow of the town’s beloved fisherman lost at sea last year, she seems fragile in every way – which is why, when Polly and she become friends, Polly withholds the confession that she slept with Selina’s husband last year. (Polly didn’t know he was married.) Their friendship is a slow one to develop, and I liked how real it felt.

At the same time, Huckle has to go back to the United States to help out on the family farm, as his do-nothing, good-for-nothing brother has deserted his responsibilities at home. The longer he stays away from Polly, the more he begins to question whether or not they should remain together…and the way in which Colgan drew me into Polly’s psyche made the ever-widening separation even more bittersweet.

When Polly needs to start over (for the third time in a short period of time), Colgan showed her true strengths as a writer: the decisions Polly made seemed rash at first, but her openness to change and self-discovery made the decisions work in her favor. I applauded Polly – and Huckle – as they came to know themselves better than they thought, and I can’t wait for the next in this fun series.

 

Avon Romance
Comments are closed.