Review: Supernatural Chronicles: The Wolves (Dynamis in New Orleans Book 2) by Kristie Cook

October 31, 2015 Review 0

Review: Supernatural Chronicles: The Wolves (Dynamis in New Orleans Book 2) by Kristie Cook

For far too long, Sundae Grayson has lived under the tight control of her father and the wolf pack he leads. At twenty-two and with college degree in hand, she’s ready to embark on a journey of her own. But when her father is attacked and nearly killed, she finds a cryptic note in his pocket—a riddle she must solve to save him. Doing so means delaying the life she desires, but her father is worth it. Not to mention that if he dies, she becomes alpha, and she’s so not ready for that. Thank the Angels for Trevor, leader of his own pack and her lifelong crush, who volunteers to help her.

The riddle sends them on the hunt of their lives. After all, they must solve the mystery, find the relic they need, and deliver it on time to save not only their packs, but all of the Amadis, who serve as the Angels’ army on Earth. If they fail, the Demons will win over the world. But what must be sacrificed for the sake of the greater good?

This novella takes place in the internationally bestselling Soul Savers series by Kristie Cook, so be prepared to see some favorite characters. The story's timeline falls between Promise, Book 1, and Purpose, Book 2.

If you’re new to the Soul Savers series, discover the rest, where you'll meet more than werewolves, but also vampires, witches, and warlocks. The further you get into the series, the more creatures you'll discover, including shapeshifters, fae, sorcerers, angels, and demons.

The series in suggested reading order:
#1 - Promise
#2 - Purpose
Novella - Genesis
#3 - Devotion
#4 - Power
#5 - Wrath
#6 - Torment
#7 - Faith

NOTE: This is a paranormal series that crosses from New Adult to Adult. It contains mature content meant for 16 years and older. This series is not a YA.

Title: Supernatural Chronicles: The Wolves
Author: Kristie Cook
Other books by this author that we've reviewed: Awakened Angel, Forget You Not
Series: Dynamis in New Orleans #2
Published by Self
Source: Author
Published: November 2, 2015
Genres: New Adult
Pages: 67
See the title at Goodreads
Purchase your copy: Amazon
Visit the Author's Website
Visit the Goodreads Series Page

Stars: four-half-stars
Flames: one-flame

For those of us who have been reading the Soul Saver series by Kristie Cook, getting a new peek into that world is always a plus. Especially, when it’s coming from a unexpected location. I never gave much thought to the supporters to the Amadis but with the Dynamis in New Orleans series, Supernatural Chronicles: The Wolves my curiosity is peaked.


Sundae has been under the control of her father and her pack. Next in line to become the alpha, a position she doesn’t want, she is defying her pack and planning her escape. All that changes with a phone call and now she has to decide if her own desires are more important than saving the world.


I never gave much thought to those who were not in the center of Alexis and Tristian’s world. I just assumed their support were there because they choose to be there. I never realized that some their supporters go back to the beginning. That cryptic remark will make more sense after you read Genesis. Sundae is a long descendent from the first shifter in Alexis line. I completely get why she wants out for herself. It’s quite the burden she shoulders and just when she thinks she can escape her father is attacked. Now she has to rush save him, along the way she has to solve a riddle, and come to grips on what is more important.


Honestly, I just loved the duality of this book. The emotional and physically battles Sundae has to overcome to know what is expected of her. The action and mystery that needs to be solved to save the world. Throw in romance and this novella packs quite the punch and is a must read for all Soul Saver readers.


While I highly recommend anything written by Kristie Cook I do not recommend reading this book without having read Promise from her Soul Saver series first. There’s quite a bit of world building regarding the Amadis and the battle between good and evil that has happened in that series. Without out having previous knowledge may be confusing and some of the more important its will be missed. However, since both series are great, do make sure to read them all.


Supernatural Chronicles: The Wolves
Comments are closed.