Review: The Asset (Wounded Warrior #1) by Anna del Mar

February 20, 2016 Review 0

Review: The Asset (Wounded Warrior #1) by Anna del Mar

Anna del Mar’s explosive, sexy debut novel in the Wounded Warrior series, perfect for fans of Lisa Marie Rice and Lora Leigh—the story of a woman desperate to escape her dangerous past and the navy SEAL who would lay down his life to save her.

Ash Hunter knows what it is to run. A SEAL gravely injured in Afghanistan, he’s gone AWOL from the military hospital. Physically and mentally scarred, he returns home to his grandmother’s isolated cottage—and finds a beautiful, haunted stranger inside.

Like recognizes like.

Lia Stewart’s in hiding from the cartel she barely escaped alive, holed up in this small Rocky Mountain town. Surviving, but only just. Helping the wounded warrior on her doorstep is the right thing to do…it’s loving him that might get them both killed.

Soon, Ash realizes he’s not the only one tormented by the past. Pushing the limits of his broken body, testing the boundaries of her shattered soul, he’ll protect Lia until his last breath.

Title: The Asset
Author: Anna del Mar
Other books by this author that we've reviewed: The Stranger
Series: Wounded Warrior
Other books in this series that we've reviewed: The Stranger
Published by Carina Press
Source: Publisher
Published: February 22, 2016
Genres: Crime Drama, Military Romance, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 265
See the title at Goodreads
Purchase your copy: Amazon
Visit the Author's Website
Visit the Goodreads Series Page

Stars: four-stars
Flames: three-half-flames
I received this book for free from the Publisher or Author in exchange for an honest review, or I purchased it with my own funds. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
300 Review

Diving into this book, it literally left off of where the synopsis finished. I was unsure how that was going to play out as the author would have to give the characters flashbacks in order for the audience to catch up. I was pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed this book. Military romance is one of my favorite genres and it is hard to find really good ones that will stay with you. I could not put this book down and literally debated on why sleep was important. It has been awhile since a book has grabbed me in such a way.

Lia is a woman who is running from her past and Ash is haunted by his. They form a tentative friendship due to Neil, an amazing German Shepard, and Ash’s grandmother Wynona who takes in Lia when she first arrives to town. Lia has a healer spirit and cannot in her right mind send a wounded vet on his way just to satisfy her paranoia.

The way their friendship goes it is a slow romance as they learn to trust each other and help each other fight their demons. Sadly, there are a few parts in the novel that could have been left out or Lia could have come clean so that certain events did not play out the way they did. Sometimes, I just wanted to shake Lia because of her paranoia since there were good people on her side.

It was a slow build up to the bad guy, aka Red, but once in the picture, ooh man! He literally justified what he did and he was content in his delusion. It is amazing what money can buy. I loved each of the characters except Charlie. I am so glad he got what was coming to him. I really hope we get to hear more of Wang, Will, Jordan, and the others.

Comments are closed.